July 20, 2017

Ninth round: IM Narayanan wins Faroes Open


IM Srinath Narayanan (2505) and GM Julio Ernesto Granda Zuniga (2656) were both in the lead with 6½ points before the last round og Faroes Open, but it was clear before the last round, that IM Srinath Narayanan (2505) would become the winner of the Faroes Open with a win in his last game.


In this game he had black against Sjúrdur Thorsteinsson (2191). IM Narayanan (2505) was the favorite to win this game and he did in fact win and thereby became the first winner of the Faroes Open.


GM Julio Ernesto Granda Zuniga (2656) also won his last game against GM Jens Kristiansen (2403) earning him the second place of the tournament. Faroese GM Helgi Dam Ziska (2544) came in third place after winning his last game against fellow Faroese player IM John Rødgaard (2329).

GM Helgi Dam Ziska (2544) finished in 3rd place and was the best Faroese player in the tournament.

GM Miguel Muñoz (2495) finished fourth and GM Allan Stig Rasmussen (2540) finished fifth.


Rating prizes were also handed to the best players in different rating classes and the winners were these:

0-1500: Suni í Horni Nielsen (1270)

1501-2000: Rógvi Mortensen (1939)

2001-2200: Sjúrdur Thorsteinsson (2191)

2201-2400: FM Høgni Egilstoft Nielsen (2323)

Suni í Horni Nielsen (1270)

Rógvi Mortensen (1939)

Sjúrdur Thorsteinsson (2191)

Høgni Egilstoft Nielsen (2323)

There was also a prize handed for beset performance according to own ratings. That was won by Jón í Horni Nielsen (1557)

Jón í Horni Nielsen (1557)