July 10, 2018

Fifth round: GM Kunin and GM Nakar among leaders after big wins


There were three players leading the way after the fourth round yesterday. Two of those, GM Gawain Jones (2670) and GM Srinath Narayanan (2549), met today. It was an even game for a long time, but with both players under some time pressure GM Gawain Jones (2670) made a couple of mistakes that gave GM Srinath Narayanan (2549) an advantage. However he didn’t find the exact moves to win the game, and it all ended with GM Gawain Jones (2670) getting perpetual check and a draw.

GM Gawain Jones (2670) drew today against last year’s winner GM Srinath Narayanan (2549).


The third player leading the way before today’s games was Faroese GM Helgi Dam Ziska (2552), who met GM Vitaly Kunin (2538) with black. GM Vitaly Kunin (2538) was just trailing the leaders by ½ a point, so a win would put him in a good spot. GM Helgi Dam Ziska (2552) got an advantage early in the game, but the game evened out and suddenly GM Vitaly Kunin (2538) found himself with an advantage in the end game with two rooks against GM Ziska’s (2552) rook, bishop and extra pawn. GM Vitaly Kunin was patient and found the right moves to win the game and to put himself in a spot among the leaders.

GM Vitaly Kunin (2538) is now among the leaders after a big win against GM Helgi Dam Ziska (2552) today.


There was yet another big winner today. IM Eylon Nakar (2462) had black against IM Maksim Vavulin (2552). IM Eylon Nakar (2462) managed to get to the end game with an extra pawn that soon became two extra pawns, and that was enough for him to win the game. He is now also among the leaders together with GM Vitaly Kunin (2538), GM Gawain Jones (2670) and GM Srinath Narayanan (2549).

IM Eylon Nakar (2462) is also among the leaders after a win against IM Maksim Valunin (2552)


To sum up the other games there weren’t any big surprises today. After today’s results there are also four players trailing the leaders with only a ½ point. These are GM Helgi Dam Ziska (2552), GM Normuds Miezis (2463), FM Høgni E. Nielsen (2397) and FM Vladimir Jotic (2387).


You can see today’s games here.


You can see the results here and the standings here.


Tomorrow’s games will start at 1 pm.